Predictions: UFC 189 Mendes v McGregor, Lawler v MacDonald

ufc189 liveHaving attended or covered nearly 150 different MMA cards at 25 different venues has done nothing to numb the senses. There is still little in this world like the electricity in the air on a big fight weekend, let alone UFC’s annual July mega-event in Las Vegas. Tonight, we’ll be treated to a pair of title fights, including a main event that has more hype around it since the peak of Chuck Liddell and Tito Ortiz. Ireland’s Connor McGregor is a real-life lightning rod; people either want to see him continue backing up everything he has said or can’t wait to see Chad Mendes shut his mouth. And the co-main event is no less deserving of attention, with Robbie Lawler set to defend his welterweight title against a man playing the role he once occupied more than a decade ago – the gifted, rising star, thought to be the heir apparent – in Canada’s Rory MacDonald.

I’m in Las Vegas covering the event, so be sure to follow along on twitter for all the latest news, notes, and opinions during the fights and at the UFC post-fight press conference.

To get you started, though, here are my predictions:

UFC Fight Pass Prelims (4pm PST / 7pm EST)

Yosdenis Cedeno > Cody Pfister

Neil Seery > Louis Smolka

UFC 189 Free Prelims, live on Fox Sports 1 (5pm PST / 8pm EST)

Cody Garbrandt > Henry Briones

Alex Garcia > Mike Swick

Cathal Pendred > John Howard

Tim Means > Matt Brown

UFC 189 Main Card, PPV (7pm PST / 10pm EST)

Thomas Almeida > Brad Pickett

Gunnar Nelson > Brandon Thatch

Dennis Bermudez > Jeremy Stephens*
* note: Stephens weighed in at 149.5, opted not to cut more weight and forfeited 20% of his purse

Robbie Lawler > Rory MacDonald (welterweight title)

Conor McGregor > Chad Mendes (interim featherweight title)

If you missed the weigh-ins yesterday, check out what went down:

Also, here is Thursday’s pre-fight press conference:

Instagram

Note to webmasters/reporters: When recapping news or interviews from this site please remember to include a link to www.MayorsManor.com

Recent Articles

NHL RADIO REPLAY: Mayor’s Minutes – All the Latest LA Kings News

Follow @mayorNHL
Enjoy a free replay of this week’s Mayor’s Minutes on NHL Network Radio, where John Hoven joined host Jim ‘Boomer’ Gordon to discuss all things Los Angeles.
Today’s radio segment can be heard using the player below or download any of our audio files for free on the MayorsManor iTunes page located here.

TSN REPLAY: Hoven Breaks Down LA Kings Draft and Roster Options

Follow @mayorNHL
Enjoy a free replay of John Hoven on TSN Radio, where he joined host Kevin Olszewski to discuss several LA Kings related topics – including what’s next for AHL Ontario, prospects being considered for the No. 2 selection in the NHL Draft, and which players are on the bubble for the 2020-21 roster.
This […]

NHL Radio Replay: Hoven on Draft Lottery, Kings Plans, and Roster Notes

Follow @mayorNHL
Enjoy a free replay of this week’s Hot Stove, where John Hoven joined hosts David Pagnotta, Dennis Bernstein, and Ryan Paton to break down what happened at the 2020 Draft Lottery, what’s next for the LA Kings, who will the pick, will he play in the NHL next season, the team’s top prospects, and […]

Major News Items

2020 NHL Draft Preview: Quinton Byfield, OHL Forward

One of Dean Lombardi’s most impactful picks came in the form of Drew Doughty at second overall. Twelve years later, the Kings would benefit if the lottery provided the same courtesy. According to Tankathon, Los … [Read More...]

More Prospect News

About John Hoven

John Hoven is a member of the of the Professional Hockey Writers Association and co-hosts Kings of the Podcast. He is also the founder and editor of MayorsManor.com, which has been named Best Sports Blog in Los Angeles by LA Weekly and Hockey Blog of the Year by Yahoo Sports. Click "ABOUT OUR TEAM" above for a full bio.