VIDEO: Penner almost scored, did the ref lose sight of the puck?

Dustin Penner appeared to score for the Kings in Game 4 on Tuesday night, but the referee blew the whistle…

Former NHL referee Kerry Fraser thumbed out this tweet soon after it happened…

RELATED CONTENT:

Flash quotes from Sharks’ locker room – includes Thornton and McLellan

Post-Game 4 comments from Kings coach Darryl Sutter

Note to webmasters/reporters: When recapping news or interviews from this site please include a link to www.MayorsManor.com

Recent Articles

NCAA West Regional - St. Cloud State vs Ferris State

Dev Camp Preview with Mikey Eyssimont, Kings 2016 Draft Pick

It’s been a whirlwind week for Mikey Eyssimont. The Colorado native was just drafted by the Kings last Saturday and now he finds himself in Los Angeles for the team’s annual Development Camp. With only one year of college experience under his belt – and expected to play a big role this upcoming season at […]

Brown Kings NHL 2015

Brown on Losing the Captaincy; Not Your Typical Conference Call

Dustin Brown met with the media today via a conference call to share his thoughts on no longer being captain of the Los Angeles Kings… and to say he was extremely candid would be more than understatement.
Partial opening comment on no longer being the captain:
“There are a lot of emotions [that come with this]. […]

Johnson Kings

UPDATED: LA Kings 2016 Development Camp Roster Info

As July 1st quickly approaches, most of the hockey world is discussing free agency. Simultaneously, we’re also just a few days away from the other annual summer tradition, Development Camp. In fact, dozens of the Kings top prospects will be arriving in Los Angeles over the weekend, with on-ice activity expected to begin on Monday […]

Major News Items

LAK Prospect No 1

LA Kings 2015-16 Prospect Rankings: No. 1 Revealed

We're finally ready to announce the name of which Los Angeles Kings prospect has nabbed the No. 1 spot in our bi-annual rankings of the team's future hopefuls. After working our way through a handful of Honorable … [Read More...]

More Prospect News

Comments

  1. what can we expect. its San Jose. They accomplished their goal….to cheat the kings in their favor.

  2. Wow, that is even worse watching it a third time… The ref is clearly starting to bring his hand up to blow his whistle right AS the puck hit Niemi. Wayyyyyyy too quick of a whistle by any standard, something should be done about that.

  3. KingsFan says:

    I hope Brad Meier isn’t allowed to Ref another game in the NHL this postseason.

  4. Blind ref was too far away to track the puck. How the heck are you going to do your job properly if you’re not even standing behind the net or if you’re watching the play from so far?

    No the officials did not lose this game for the Kings tonight. I’m not even starting that. I’m just saying, this killed any momentum LA had on its side and gave it all right back to SJ

  5. Eva Marie Alonzo says:

    This and Muzzin’s shot are driving me crazy………Totally doing a ‘Sutter’ on this game as of now……..What game 4?……….. on to game 5!!! 🙂

  6. I was sitting in section 228 on the opposite blue line 200 feet above the ice and I never lost sight of the puck. How did he lose sight of the puck from behind the net? You can see it from any and every angle.

    Where did the NHL get these officials? Did they just go out on the street and drag in two guys and give them uniforms? Two games in a row LA gets screwed.

    These guys probably think they have the momentum now, but the joke is on them because they can’t win in LA right now even with help from the officials. If it takes 7 games, we will win.

  7. Right sugar, you saw the puck the whole time from hundreds of feet away even when it behind or under players. Tell us more about these super hero abilities you have.

    • Quit trolling. The puck was visible because it went to right of Niemi and right on to Penner’s stick. Everyone at the game could see it and even the Sharks fans surrounding me were groaning because they thought it was a goal. Everyone in the building did.

  8. Matt Greenes Stunt Double says:

    Toffoli deserves all the credit on that one. Ref made a huge mistake on that. Kings got robbed

  9. Ultimate20 says:

    Referee made a quick call. An experienced ref will give a count, maybe 2- to make sure the GK has the puck You see it all the time from experienced refs. There’s nothing to be lost by counting a beat. Especially when no one is wacking at him. Just wait, make sure he has it, then blow the whistle. In this case none of that happens. Puck hits GK, instantaneous “Tweet” of the whistle.

    The main announcer, can’t recall his name, Fortus or something, asks Michelleti -“did they get it right”, and Michelleti’s been around awhile, pretty experienced guy, calls it straight away, “No”.

    Oh well, what are you going to do? There have been so many missed calls, missed simple offsides calls, questionable penalties- the one where DD falls and the Shark player goes into Quick was a terrible call, so both teams just have to play and not worry about the refs.

  10. I have to say that your whistle was short of quick as in way to fast as in are you kidding me ?